*Polar Bears*

No, not the beautiful white, furry ones found in the Alaska, Canada, Russia, Denmark, and Norway.  These bears are members of  The Coney Island Polar Bear Club, the oldest winter bathing organization in the United States. Thy swim in the Atlantic Ocean at Coney Island every Sunday from November through April although they’re most famous for their annual New Year’s Day swim…..rain, snow, sleet or shine!”  I can assure you of one thing…I am NOT a member!  🙂


Click to enlarge

There’s been a lot about Coney Island in the news here lately. It seems many of the businesses that have been on the boardwalk, some for more than 70 years, are being forced to close. From what I can gather, NYC was renting to these businesses and in February leased to another company that took effect November 15th. I found another blog, “Amusing the Zillion – A former carny kid casts an insider’s eye on the amusement business, Coney Island, and fun places in between,” that’s been covering this and has lots more info. It’s also a great blog to tell you anything you’ve ever wanted to know about Coney Island, including Ruby Jacobs Walk.  Guess I got there just in time!

About Madelaine

Comments & Inquiries Welcomed
This entry was posted in Photography by Madelaine Cappuccio and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to *Polar Bears*

  1. danudin says:

    Good to see you are proud of your NutCases too!

  2. great name of that club but I could never qualify either 🙂

  3. Tammy McChesney says:

    I always thought that polar bear club was NUTS! 🙂 No way would I join that one (I’m cold in the summer lol)!

    That is a shame about all of the original business owners…to be there so long and then pushed out, definitely not a fun position to be in!

  4. Artlover says:

    I was thinking in Swedish:, “Björntjänst”, translated to disservice when I saw the sign. No, there is no club for me I think:-)

Leave a comment