*Looking Down*

F-stop-f/3.3, shutter speed-1/30 sec., ISO-160, focal length-5mm

Please click to enlarge

Color Re-Do

About Madelaine

Comments & Inquiries Welcomed
This entry was posted in Photography by Madelaine Cappuccio and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

23 Responses to *Looking Down*

  1. danudin says:

    Madelaine please try and see this from my point of view, but I don’t understand B&W, not a case of like/dislike But I am trying to learn! To me this seems over exposed, In colour I would say is or isn’t over exposed, but in B&W I don’t know. So I will be back often to check on the comments of others and your replies, to try and learn.

  2. Iona says:

    Madelaine! This would fit really well under texture because there is so much of it here. It would also fit under arc as well.

    I look everywhere and see some different texture in this photo. Great shot for the theme, however.

    Ron’s objection is sorta mine as well. I like color, but generally dislike B&W. But, to bring out the many surfaces here (which was not your theme intent), almost demands B&W, doesn’t it? Great composition and good work here.

  3. Terri Creasy says:

    I love the black and whites, and you seem to do them well. It is a little bright at the bottom of the step, you may be able to change that with one of the color settings before you convert to b/w. Sometimes though I think when these are not too strong it could also be settings on our own personal monitors. My pictures never look the same at home as they do at work. I like the long look down, even though I don;t like heights(lol) and textures definitely are a plus. And the walkway leads you down and forward, which always makes you wonder what was next.

  4. jenslanghans says:

    The color version may distract ones focus from the stairway. I like the lines of the handrail guiding you down to the bottom.

  5. Tammy McChesney says:

    I think black and white is perfect for this image…I also like the highlight at the bottom of the stairs. I think both add a timeless and mystical look to the image, well done!

  6. Madelaine says:

    For some reason I’m drawn to black & white, but only when I think that it will make a particular image better. Jens, you’re thinking what I was thinking….the color would have detracted from the focus of the photo and all the interesting lines and shadows. I’ve posted a color image to make the comparison.
    I’ve also posted another b & w version that I reprocessed. I had used a Coffee Shop action on the first one and really wasn’t thrilled with the results but I let it slide because it was so late. In retrospect that was a mistake, so thank you for your opinions on the first one.
    I do like the final black & white version better but I’m curious to know your feelings on the color vs the reprocessed b & w.

    EDIT: There was some kind of glitch with the enlarged color version, so if you’re interested in seeing it please go to themes and click on ‘Looking Down (Color)’.

  7. danudin says:

    Thank you for the repost madelaine, I must admit to liking the colour more but agree that the secomd B&W is far easier to view, if more work, looks like my taste is in the minority but that is usual. What is important is what you like, so more power to photo no@2.

  8. There are some images just made for B&W, and this is one of them. The color is distracting. IMHO the sepia makes everything look dirty; the B&W emphasizes the textures and surface designs. Keep up your good work with B&W….

  9. Mary Lou says:

    Great stairway!! It’s so interesting to see all three images together. One would think the colors are so pretty and make the image but not in this case. I like the B&W but the sepia brings out more detail and textures with nice tones.

  10. boomer3297 says:

    I actually like the sepia(first shot) best!

  11. Lesli says:

    I personally do not prefer the color shot of this one. My eye is drawn the the red blurb at the bottom of the stairs. In monotone, my eye fixates on the stairs, and it rides the rail down to the bottom (instead of starting there). Also, the grass at the top of the stairs looks almost imposing on the color shot (“oh – should I sweep this up before i take the shot?”) but in monotone, it looks fabulous and full of texture. As to what color of monotone – i don’t think it matters. It could be a subtle blue or red or green for that matter – your shot does well in monotone regardless. Nice.

  12. Bobbie says:

    I much prefer the B&W. There’s just too much Stuff going on in the color shot, but the B&W focuses attention onto the stairs. I like the warmer image better on an emotional level–I can’t explain why.

  13. lijola says:

    The middle one seems too exposed (at the street level). I usually love b&w but I think this one is nice in color. I like the aged look of the concrete, the dried plant matter, and the hard look of the steel on the steps.

  14. Lorri says:

    I”m with Ron, preferring the color version. What I like are those greens. I wonder about an edit with selective color showing the greens down and around the staircase. Maybe a little light color on the brown mulch at the top, definitely drop out the red thing at the bottom.
    In any version it’s a nice shot that draws my eye and thoughts down those steps.

  15. Julie McLeod says:

    I like both the black & white versions, but the second one best. It’s a very intriguing scene when seen through your camera’s eye, Madelaine! I wouldn’t discount the color version, though. I just think it needs a boost in contrast, maybe some dodging in the bright street level, and perhaps a vignette to further focus attention on the stairs. You could also decrease the saturation of the red in the hydrant so that you eye is less drawn by it.

  16. Greg says:

    Looks like I’m in with the group on this one..I like the first two shots and the B&W the best, though I do think it would benefit from a bit more contrast. Nice image!

  17. Madelaine says:

    OK….I’ve done more work on this photo than I’ve done on my exhibition ones!! lol Number 4 is now up.
    Lorri & Julie-I took both of your suggestions and re-did the processing AGAIN :(. I really appreciate everyone’s input because with all the comments & changes I’ve made, I think each image has improved and can stand on its own, so thank you! 🙂 Julie, I’d never have thought of the vignette idea but it made a huge difference.
    Please keep the suggestions coming!
    (I even like the color one now whereas I didn’t before.)

  18. Lesli says:

    oooo – love the new one – very awesome. All the positive things about the monotone and the color combined into one. I’d put this 4th one on my wall. Nice. And the vignette is great.

  19. Julie McLeod says:

    I love the newest color version, Madelaine. Glad you had fun playing with this one!

  20. Lorri says:

    I really like the newest version, Madelaine! There’s an extra layer of depth that adds intrigue and interest.

  21. Rachel says:

    What a great shot. I love the sepia treatment. It removes the distractions of the colors, but is much warmer than the B&W. Very nice.

  22. My eye is drawn right down to the bottom of the stairs, wondering what is down there. The sepia is my favorite of the four, I like the mood it creates. Nice shot!

  23. Penny says:

    Nice shot. Great depth. I like how the shot makes your eyes follow the lines of the stairway.

Leave a Reply

