*Mini Assignment 1*

From “Amateur Snapper:”

“The only rule in photography is that there are no rules.  However, there are many composition guidelines which can be applied in almost any situation, to enhance the impact of a scene.”

Composition Guideline – Cropping

“Often a photo will lack impact because the main subject is so small it becomes lost among the clutter of its surroundings. By cropping tight around the subject you eliminate the background ‘noise’, ensuring the subject gets the viewer’s undivided attention.”

Guideline not followed – Click to view larger image

F-stop-f/5.6, shutter speed-1/500 sec, ISO-160, focal length 62mm

Guideline followed – click to view larger image

Edit:  I forgot to ID it!  It’s the George Washington Bridge with a view from New Jersey across the Hudson River into New York.

Click here to read about “The Little Red Lighthouse”


EDIT:  Using Terri’s suggestion of selective color

Guideline not followed – click to view larger image

Guideline followed – click to view larger image.

I really like this one best. Besides loving the b & w, I think it puts all the focus on the Little Red Lighthouse.  Curiously enough, it also brings out a lot more of the details while not distracting the eye from the lighthouse.

Any other opinions?

About Madelaine

Comments & Inquiries Welcomed
This entry was posted in Photography by Madelaine Cappuccio and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

18 Responses to *Mini Assignment 1*

  1. danudin says:

    It is strange but perspective must be powerful,the first one had me looking and lookinh, the second barely got a second glance, Great Top shot!

  2. Tammy McChesney says:

    I love that first shot….it follows a different composition guide….framing…beautiful shots!

  3. jenslanghans says:

    Wow. Thank you for sharing. Even the cropped image makes it out to look like a traffic cone. Then after reading the info on it, that bridge is got to be massive. Both shots give you different perspectives. Great job!!

  4. Penny says:

    I must admit. The top shot is also my favorite. I couldn’t stop looking at all the interesting lines. The second one is a great crop though. You also have great depth in the first shot. Well done!

  5. victry1 says:

    Nice shot! Love the lines and depth in the top photo! Also, thanks for the link on the story. I’ve gone by the little lighthouse on any number of occasions and even did a Be Creative with it, but never knew the story.

  6. pilgrim30 says:

    Madelaine! When these photos were opening, before the first one got even half way open, all I could do was say, “WOW”!! That first one is a real stunner. The second one is “ho-hum” compared to the first. The cropping, even though it did place a different focus, did not improve it. Nice composition, lighting, framing (in the 1st), and contrasts!! Terrific job.

  7. Julie McLeod says:

    Nice to see the Little Red Lighthouse again!

    It’s interesting to read all the comments about the crop. Like everyone else, I’m taken by the first shot. It is a great use of framing to focus attention and simply an eye-catching shot in general. I think the crop is meant to focus attention on the lighthouse, but even though a lot of distracting elements have been eliminated, the elements that remain are close-up and much more detailed, so I find they seem distract from the lighthouse. I’m curious how do you feel about the two versions?

    • Madelaine says:

      Well, believe it or not, I agree with the comments about liking the top shot better! I was trying to focus attention on the lighthouse, and in the crop I did, but it kind of lost something in translation. I couldn’t put my finger on it but I think you did. There is too much detail surrounding the lighthouse and, like Iona said, it’s just ho-hum. In this case, the composition guideline enhanced the ‘background noise.’ So much for guidelines in this case! lol

  8. The crop does add emphasis on the lighthouse, but isn’t as visually interesting as the top photo. The top one has the arc and so many different lines that make me want to continue looking.

  9. Terri Creasy says:

    I love the detail and the lines of the bridge, I have been across that bridge before too. How cool to see what the underside looks like. Wonder what black and white might do and mabe selectively color the red. I always like your architecture shots.

  10. Greg says:

    Madelaine…I”ve read through the other comments and agree with most..I like the first image best..makes me want to shake the sand outta my shoes, get out of the pine barrens for a while and take a drive to North Jersey!

  11. Julie McLeod says:

    At the risk of offending, I admit I don’t like the selective color. I’m glad Terri suggested the changes – I do think I might like both B&W versions with a touch more contrast but without the red. That’s likely just me – I’m not a huge fan of selective color…

  12. Ellen says:

    It is very cool to see the Little Red Lighthouse again. I think I like the original best too, the arch frames and shows the scale well.

  13. Mary Lou says:

    Great detail in this shot and like everyone has said I like the top image the best. The arc frames the image and I like seeing the bottom of the bridge as it draws one into the image. I also prefer the color in this image. I don’t think the B&W shows the true beauty of this image.

  14. Bobbie says:

    The LIttle Red Lighthouse! That was the first book I got out of the library when I was able to print my name and get a library card. Even thought the selective coloring does put the focus on that lovely landmark, I like the top photo the best. Maybe is shows that rules re meant to be broken, but is shows the sweep and drama of the GW bridge, and in the process how small the lighthouse it in comparison. The color is muted enough that variatios in shade don’t provide a distraction.

  15. boomer3297 says:

    Well, I’m glad I’m not the only one who likes the first shot, the angle gives the shot more depth and interest. I do like the b+w without selective coloring. Nice shots!

Leave a Reply

