*Cold*

F-stop-f/11, shutter speed-1/250 sec, ISO-100, focal length-20mm

About Madelaine

Comments & Inquiries Welcomed
This entry was posted in Photography by Madelaine Cappuccio and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

17 Responses to *Cold*

  1. jenslanghans says:

    When a body of water freezes over it is definitely Cold. Nice image.

  2. Sheila says:

    Nice one Madelaine — Did you take it in black and white or is there just no color? there is nothing that says cold like an open lake with drifting snow. I also love the “stick” texture with all of the bare trees around the edge of the lake. Did you do any post processing?

    • Madelaine says:

      Yes Sheila, I did A LOT of processing. Sharpened, cropped, converted to b & w with a gradient map, used various tweaked & non-tweaked presets; applied a reddish/brownish layer, applied RPM Beautifier….I think that’s it! lol
      The Beautifier is a free Photoshop plugin in that can be found HERE🙂

  3. Terri says:

    Nice landscape and really cold. Its cool to catch it untouched by bird or beast. Great job.

  4. Tammy McChesney says:

    Amazing how cold can look so beautiful, love the bare trees whisping (is that a word? LOL) in that gray sky. You caught a magical winter land there!

  5. boomer3297 says:

    I’ve got a few of these shots in central NJ too, grey and gloomy, the face of a NJ winter.

  6. Rachel says:

    That definitely looks very cold. I like the way the creek wraps around.

  7. lijola says:

    REALLY like that brownish tone! Thanks for the link, too.

  8. mljrbg says:

    The postprocessing adds to the starkness of this chilly photograph. Great tones.

  9. Kerri says:

    This is a really pretty shot. I think the black and white definitely adds to the starkness and coldness of the photo.

  10. Julie McLeod says:

    Madelaine – this is simply beautiful! I’m glad Sheila asked about your processing as I find it interesting to hear what the talented folks do with their images.

    Also wanted to say, I’m enjoying your personalized sidebar links…

  11. Penny says:

    This is an awesome shot. I love the processing and composition.

  12. Ellen says:

    I love the curve of the tree line and the tones. I like RPM too, have you seen that ‘bleach by-pass pro’ is free now?

  13. Iona says:

    Hello Madelaine! Thanks! I think I’ll just stay home if that is the kind of weather I can expect! That really looks cold. You did a lot of post-processing. Great shot of the ice and the brush! Perhaps you can provide us another post of this same area come springtime? It should look great then too.

  14. I like the dreamy feel to this, beautiful shot!

Leave a Reply

